Somewhere Over the Monon

Somewhere over the Monon the blue birds fly? Oh wait, that’s not how the song goes. 

There are several things I love about my city but one of my favs is the Monon Trail. Do you know it? It’s a trail that can take you to Broad Ripple, Carmel, Fountain Square, Mass Ave., well, you get the point. You can walk, bike, roller blade, skip, run, or whatever your heart desires. I’ve even seen a St. Bernard sitting on a platform being pulled by a man on a bike while blasting 70’s music – and let me tell you, that dog was living the good life. Oh and let’s not forget the many, many babies, toddlers, and dogs (yes dogs) being pulled or pushed by runners or bikers. Needless to say I love this trail for many reasons; here are my top three.

Food.

Drinks.

Entertainment.

When my husband, D, and I moved to Indianapolis back in 2014 we lived downtown close to everything. We still to this day talk about how good we had it and how we didn’t know what we had until it was gone. We lived 4 blocks from Mass Ave. We walked everywhere and spent wayyyy too much money. We ate, drank, and enjoyed “downtown living”. 

Indianapolis is full of life. Full of foodie places, full of food places, and full of places to kick back and have a drink. And yes, there’s a difference between “foodie” and “food” places. Just ask any “big city” resident. In the 3 years we have lived in Indy, we have visited numerous amount of restaurants, bars, pubs, wineries, and breweries. Here are a few of our favs.

Indiana City – The very first brewery that we stumbled upon and still to this day it remains our favorite. It’s laid back and they have delicious beer! And the bartenders are pretty awesome as well!

Old Point Tavern – Yes, some might say this bar that’s tinted red might be a “hole in the wall” but that’s what I love about it. It’s old, it’s quaint, and a little intimating to walk into but once you do you need to order the nachos. I crave them weekly.  

La Margarita – Mexican & yummy margaritas. Enough said.

Milktooth – Now, I really didn’t want to be another person to talk up Milktooth but honestly, it’d be a sin if I didn’t include this brunch establishment on my list of favorites. I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t a favorite of mine.

Locally Grown Gardens – I get very excited when spring comes back around because it means my favorite little market will be serving Lemon Shake Ups and not the ones you get at the fair or carnival. These are legit, full of fresh fruit, and massive. We split one and go for a walk on the Monon.  

Now, these are just a few that come to mind when I sit down and write. These are the ones that I think about when I reminisce on our move to this vibrate city and how it welcomed us with opened arms. 

I’m excited that I still call Indy home and that I continue to grow and discover new places, activities, and people. Thanks for letting me share a little about me and my love for this city that we call home. I hope to continue to share life with you.

Come along for the ride! 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑